The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The famous baseball player Yogi Berra once said, "In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is." In a capitalist economy or an economy that is driven by wealth, the sole aim of big Multi National Companies in such economies is to make a profit. In theory, one may assume that a part of this profit which is accrued by these big corporations will ultimately reach the Government by taxation and thus can be used for the general welfare of the nation. But in reality, the truth is far from this.

For example, consider a Capitalist economy like the United States. The big Corporations, like Goldman or other big investment banking organizations, have grown so influential, that keeping a check on their activities by utilizing governmental organs or policies is next to impossible. Many-a-times, it is only when huge finance related scandals are reported by news agencies, that the nation gets to know the financial discrepancies that happen at these corporations. Further, such organizations usually cater to the interests of the rich and the powerful. It is all but a childish dream to imagine that, these organizations, that are run and controlled by the rich and elite would want to invest the profits that they created to promote welfare activities for the public. It is a common behavior of all such institutions that they do not invest in a cause which does not give them returns.

At first, politicians and corporate leaders must realize that Multi National Companies are not like islands that can stand separately from the rest of the country and hope to achieve overall economic growth that is not influenced by the general nature of the economy of the country. We see this pattern in some of the under-developed or developing countries. In these countries, the Governments try to encourage existing companies to flourish and grow by giving them tax exemptions and in return, the Government officials demand bribes. This becomes a vicious circle, and the money that is trapped in this circle will end up never trickling down for public welfare. These corrupt organizations become so powerful that they become influential in even making policy decisions for the Government.

However, outliers, though few, do exist. Some of the big corporations are involved and encourage their employees to participate in community building and other such activities as part of their corporate social responsibility (CSR) program. It is a laudable trend. Some big names in the industry, like Amazon and Facebook, are well known for their CSR activities. However, this trend is yet to catch on. We see how CEOs of some of the big firms, like Bill Gates, who are also some of the richest people in the world are also some of the most well-known figures in running charity organizations. They set up scholarships in their names or in the names of their organizations, or to contribute to the causes of environment and education. Thus, change, however small is happening. It is up to all organizations- big or small - to realize this and play their part responsibly.