"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

It is a fact that over the past year, the late-night news program has focussed on national news. But, before the repurcussions of the said action are analyzed, it needs to be seen as to why such an action was taken in the first place. What if the, during the last one year, there was much happening in the national arena compared to the local news? What if the thinking of the television company was that, the issues of national importance would attract more viewers as opposed to loosing them? Still, for this to hold true, the demographics of the viewers watching the late night news need to considered. If the viewers are of a particular age group or sex, who might be interested in local news and weather more, then the reason attributed to the loosing of viewership in the argument is not entirely wrong.

It is indeed worrying that the our previous advertisors have cancelled their contracts with us. However, before blaming it wholly on the increase in time that the national news is aired on the late-night news program, it needs to be carefully analyzed if there are other not-so-apparent reasons as to why this might have happenend. It needs to be confirmed, if the advertising department of the television station had meetings with the agencies in this regard and as previous advertisors, with the right kind of pressurizing, if they can convince these local businesses to sign contracts with television company again. The issue between the two might not as much had been the airing time,compared to the "economical aspect" of the previous contract. However, if the reason as to why they decided to call it quits with the telivision company, is indeed due to the increased time allotted to the national news, then the content creators need to have discussions as to how this can optimized with the weather and local news airing time. But, what if, the advertisors were simply unhappy about the how often their advertisements aired on the TV channel? In this case, the new contracts that are signed, should be designed cleverly in a way to make everyone happy.

Regarding the complaints received from the customers - first and foremost, it needs to be considered as to what sort of complaints were received from the customers? Was it related to the content of the late-night news specifically? Were they unhappy about the presentation? Or, was it some mistakes that might have crept up in any of the shows, that won't be surprising in this age of cinematic journalism.

The conclusion that, by restoring the time devoted weather and local news is the one shot solution to attract more viewers to the late night news and to avoid losing further advertising, seems rather far fetched. Rather, the problem need to analyzed from different dimensions and a solution need to be arrived at which increases viewership and brings back old and new advertisers.