The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is indeed worrying when a big production house that invests a lot of money for producing movies does not make the kind of profits that it desires. But, what needs to be considered is, do the films that they produce deserve to make the kind of money that they are hoping for?

The crux of the recommendation is based on a report from the marketing department of the company. What needs to be verified thoroughly are the numbers in this report. Does it compare the budget of each movie and the money that it made, or does it only use the average money spent and the total profit made last year? Since the cost of production varies a lot based on the actors, location and so on, it is unclear if the movies talked about here are big-budget movies not making money or movies that were made on a smaller scale. Unless the report is comprehensive, listing all of these factors and even additional data like the money made by movies made by other production house, the conclusions that can be made from the report will remain highly ambiguous.

Following up on a point made in the previous paragraph, in the case of movie viewership, a lot depends on the kind of cinema that is made. Usually, big budget, action movies or romantic comedies draw out a huge audience and make the lion share of movies that make some profit in any given year. On the contrary, movies that receive critical acclaim goes to win movie awards, though ends up being box-office flops - as is usually the case. Hence, if the production house made more of the latter, it is not very surprising if they ended up not making much money and the fact that only fewer people attended these movies corroborates with this argument.

Additionally, what could also be the case if last year was generally a bad year for movies. Like was mentioned before, in the absence of corroborating evidence, nothing can be claimed unequivocally regarding movie trends from last year. If all the production houses were running losses, then the concern lies elsewhere and allocating more budget to movies may not help the company sail past their predicament.

Also, whatever positive reviews that the report claims to have received from the reviewers will not help provide any credibility to the recommendation, unless and until the nature of the data is clear. For example, the positive reviews received is a percent of what? What were the specific movies that received these reviews? What is unique about them? What was their budget? How much money did they make compared to the ones that did not receive any positive review.?

Further, an assumption is made that, these positive reviews are not reaching the prospective viewers and the public end up being unaware of the good quality movies that were made. However, going by one of my assertions previously, all good movies need not be crowd pullers. Historically, there have been many movies that crashed at the box office but went to win the Grammys and Oscars.f

Furthermore, simply increasing the budget to reach out to the public may not prove that effective. The argument does not mention clearly how effective the previous marketing strategies were. If the limitation is not stemming from the budget, but rather from the lack of creative input from the marketing department, that is the area that needs to be rectified and they need to brainstorm more to come up with innovative and novel solutions to take their movies to the public.