To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In the later half of 18th century, archeologists in India announced that they have made a discovery that held the an important clue to uncover the mystery of Harappan culture, which is the earliest known Indian civilization. They had discovered Mohenjedaro, the capital of this civilization. And with this discovery, several mysteries that used to confuse historians regarding the society and customs of ancient Indian started to unfold.

Historians often look at evidences collected from city sites as the major indicators of the society. Be it studying the idols of dieties to guess about the religious practices, the use of different kinds of metals and coins as inidicators of trade with countries in different parts of the world and even burial grounds to understand about the superstitions of that era. For example, in Mohenjedaro, the Historians discoverd communal baths. Later studies revealed that they also had a technically sound drainage system.

Cities hold important clues to the ways of their people. Specially in this day and age, when more and more people flock to the cities in search of job and a better life style, these urban centers are defintely the best starting points to study about the society. The key characteristics of a society are its economy, food habit, dressing style, language, arts and culture, sports, architecture and the societal hierarchy and gender roles. By merely looking at the buildings, one can understand the architecture. By looking at the type of restaurants in the city, one can even predict the demographics of that city. Cities are often metropolitan, with the people speaking different languages, wearing different costumes and so on. Thus, these cities stand testament to its people and their way of living.

However, this being said, in the periphery of these cities, one might expect to find important clues pointing to the origin of these societal characteristics. In the metropolis, where there is a synergy of people, their culture, languages and customs, it won't be surprising if they lose their identity and become indistinguishable by becoming the part of something bigger. So, for those who are interested to learn about the beginnings of a society- it would serve them well to also look at the non-urban centers surrounding these big cities.