The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

While maintaining high ethical standards is imperative to bolster the good name and brand value for a company, it is not the only most effective strategy to maintain and increase profits. To quote Yogi Berra, a famous baseball player, "In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is." Thus, in an Utopian setting, it can be argued that if an organization maintains high ethical standards then only good things would happen to them, in reality,to achieve monetary success, the organization will have to make efforts spanning a multitude of dimensions.

For example, consider the pharmaceutical industry. It is characterized by cut-throat competition with new and innovative drugs entering the market at a fast pace. An ethical issue that most organizations in this industry face are with regards to clinical trials. Namely, use of animals for testing their new products. If in the name of ethics, a company refuses to conduct such clinical trials, the effects of the same - both deleterious and beneficial - will never come to light. In some situations, for the greater good, some tests and experiments need to be conducted, that will result in products that benefit the humanity in the long run and thus creating a new niche market of the new product, resulting in monetary gain and increased profit for its manufacturer.

For example, consider the history of the development of groundbreaking scientific drugs. The scientists would have faced the ethical and moral dilemma in several instances. But if that had deterred them from proceeding with further testing, many of the useful medicines and products that are available today would never have existed. If ethical dilemma had stopped such inventors from investing in new products and services, then they would never have profited financially and would have eventually faded away from the business world.

However, while it is not a given that maintaining high ethical standards will undoubtedly result in profit for the firm, it is also not true that organizations that completely ignore and refute ethical practices - be it in business or experiments - will financially prosper in the long run. For example, following on from the example from before, if the same company that wants to conduct clinical trails wants to test their drugs on human beings while keeping the participants of the trail in the dark about the side effects of such a test, then such an act can raise questions on ethical practices. There are several instances in history, when such unethical acts of companies have come to light, completely ruining the company's existence.

In conclusion, a clear boundary between ethical and non-ethical practices must be defined. Several companies do this by making their employees aware of ethics in business, industry, research and so on by providing them training. More importantly, the government can come up with guidelines to regulate and ensure that all companies abide by a set of rules related to ethical and moral standards for doing business. In short, to maximize profit and to stay profitable in the long run, the companies should strive to achieve the optimum balance between maintaining ethical standards and making sure their products do well in the market.