"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Good schooling, and a good curriculum to go with it are notions that have been prevalent since the birth of "welfare states". Welfare state is one, where the government exists for the welfare of its citizens and by the emphasis that these governments lay on the education sector indicates how beneficial a good education is for the future of the country in that, it influences and shapes the thinking of its future leaders.

In most countries there exists different forms and types of schooling. Be it public and private schools, schools that are managed and run by certain religious institutions and charities, and even some, which are sponsored and rely on donations from business enterprises and even political parties. In the absence of a uniform national curriculum, these schools are free to teach their students, languages and subjects, in a way that they see as appropriate. It cannot escape the eyes of even the most casual observer, as to how these schools that propounds their own curriculum, might influence the young minds of the country, when they are at an age where anything could influence them ever so easily. It won't be surprising, if a school run by a religious instiution, makes it mandatory for its student to learn about the religion as well. Learning about a religion is not wrong, however, if the other subjects that are taught at the institution, are from a view point of this religion, then this kind of teaching style is indeed questionable. The same applies for schools sponsored by political parties and/or business enterprises.

It is also often seen in the news that, how the curriculum in private schools, gives its teachers, the freedom of choosing to teach the students in a way that is suitable to the student's needs - resulting in a curriculum that cater to an individual student's needs. While the verity of this, might be different from school to school, it goes beyond saying that, the affluent and well-to-do families are able to send their children to such schools, where the child is able to think on in own and learn better and more efficiently. However, as is often the case with public schools, the emphasis is more on the grades and the over all performance of a class on the whole, than an individual student, that the curriculum is so designed that all the students can perform equally well. This leaves a lot to be desired for an excellent student who might be able to handle a more challenging course work or a below average student, who might benefit better from some individual attention.

While it cannot be denied that adopting a national curriculum could be challenging from an infrastructure and implementation perspective and that, the interests of all parties involved, be it, the sponsors, the religious groups etc need to be safe guarded, the bottom line is, it is the duty of the government to ensure that the all the students of the country are equipped equally with the right tools that will give them fighting chance to achieve success in today's highly competitive world.