Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it is true that the Production Company should come up with an action plan to increase the viewership of movies that they produce, the arguments made by the director in this particular memo are flawed and does not hold any ground when analyzed critically.

Firstly, he bases his whole claim on a recent report from the company's marketing department, according to which, fewer people attended the movies that they produced than in any other year and uses this argument to bolster his claim that the movies were probably not advertised enough. However, it fails to answer if it was only the lack of advertising that resulted in a loss of viewership. It could have been a general trend in the movie industry last year that resulted in a loss of viewership. Only if more comprehensive data regarding the overall number of movie-goers last year is available, then this claim will hold any ground.

Secondly, he makes a suggestion that movies that get positive reviews from movie reviewers will succeed in the box office. There are several movies, that even go on to win movie awards, that fail at the box office since the audience taste varies a great deal from those of movie critics. Further, the report also says that, even these positive reviews were for specific movies. The report does not give any indication as to how well these movies, which received a positive review did at the box office. It is unclear whether these movies did really well at the box-office, while other movies flopped miserably. Then, the average audience for all the movies produced by the Super screen companies would have gone down. Since, enough data is not available in this regard, this argument by the director cannot be validated.

Finally, the claim goes on to make a questionable assumption that since some movies received a positive review, their quality is good. And, it is the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available is what that is resulting in loss of viewers. And hence, the company should allocate a greater share of its budget for advertising. This argument, completely fail to mention what exactly is the content that the author wishes to be advertised. It does not mention if he wants the movie to be advertised via teasers, trailers or promotional events or if wants the critic's reviews to be advertised. If it is the former, then all the arguments that he made earlier in the memo will fail to support this particular claim and if it is indeed that latter, the argument is still flawed to make for a cogent appeal to increase budget for advertising.