The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant:

It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them stayed home and did not protest. The group that did not protest is much larger and better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city: that the elimination of rent control is not a problem. You should not let the small protest discourage you.

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument\'s conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The political consultant seems to express his personal opinion when he advises the politician that he should not let a small protest discourage him. For this, the consultant uses a number of unsubstantiated facts and unwarranted assumptions to bolster his claim, making his line of reasoning weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, he undermines the efficacy of the protest that happened while it was raining. He uses only the number of protesters who participated in the protest to tout his claim that the protest was small. More often than not, the impact of a protest is from the cause for which it was conducted and from what the reach of the protest was. For example, we hear of a single social activist going on a hunger strike. The impact such agitations create in the minds of people is what that galvanize an insipid nation to take action. In failing to explain to the politician, that the reach of the agitation might be much greater than he anticipated, this argument falls short of being convincing.In an era of net savvy denizens, it only takes a Whats app video for an incident to go viral and create a strong impact on its viewers. Further, since the protest happened while it was raining, it points to the intensity of the protest and can in no way be refuted as a weak protest. Thus, by failing to give evidence as regards the absence of media coverage or the reach of the protest, the consultant makes a weak claim.

Secondly, the consultant makes a rather weak argument when he says that since the 19800 renters stayed at home, they were not part of the protest. And he further goes on to make an unconvincing argument that, since this group stayed away from the protest, they were actually not against the proposed regulation and they, in fact, represent the opinion of the renters throughout the city. We are not given any evidence to validate this claim. This claim assumes that there won't be any future protests if the politician goes ahead with the regulation. By giving us no explanations as to the possibility of future protests this evidence makes an unwarranted conclusion.

We have no information to conclude that the renters who stayed at home were not against the regulation. For all we know, they might take to the roads to protest at the next chance. This claim could have been more logically sounding if the consultant could explain the reasons as to how the number of renters staying at home is commensurate with the number who are not against the regulation. For example, if the politician has appeased them in some way or if he has struck an alternate or more acceptable deal with them and so-on. However, in the absence of any such alternate explanations, this claim also is also unconvincing.

Thus, by basing his arguments on some untenable evidence and using that evidence to give an advice, which is at best a personal view, the argument fails to be persuasive and well-reasoned.