Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

It is said that the one thing which does not change is change itself. The lack of interest that a young student has in a particular subject may be temporary and if his/her school decides dissuade him from pursuing his studies further in that field, they may be robbing their country of a potential scientist or a nobel laureate.

During school years, students are in an exprimental phase. They try their hands at various activities, be it academics, sports, arts or culture. By trial and error they slowly learn where their true interests and passion lies and decide upon a career path based on it. If the school acts preemptively and starts to decide what a particular student is good what and what he should do with his life, they are in-effect encroaching on the student's right to choose and his freedom to express.

Also, different schools follow different curriculum. They have their own teaching styles, examination patterns and quality of academic staff. Very often, a student's interest or lack of interest in a particular subject is influenced by all of these factors. He may not like mathematics, not because he is not good at it, but by of the way it is taught. If the educational institution decides that the particular student is not faring well in mathematics solely based on his grade, that is not a true measure of his future success in the field.

Additionally, there is no proven fool proof method to assess a student's interest in a particular field of study. While examinations are a good way to measure bookish knowledge, there are several students who, while not scoring good marks in theoretical exams perform remarkably well in the practical or real world application of the theoretical principles. For example, imagine Einstein. He is known have been bad at academics at school and his school is also known to have undermined his academic capability based on his performance in theoretical examinations.

However, in today's world, where schools work meticulously to make sure that only the top students join them and that these students perform well in national exams, there is always the probability that the marks scored by a student in his exams would be the measure of his interest and so called "success" in that area. And schools are known to try to make students choose subjects in which they perform well in exams -which is such a narrow criteria for assessing capabilities.

Whilst schools can't be blamed for wanting spotless success rates, they must take it upon themselves that they serve as fertile grounds for sowing the seeds for the creativity and intellect that will shape the future of tomorrow. And they should make sure that they don't weed out a sprout only because it did not give a good yield in the first season. They should try new fertilizers and growing techniques and make sure they get the best possible yield!