Following the September 11th attack, where the Al-Queda acquired bombmaking and terrorist knowledge over the internet, many lawmakers have proposed that an international body regulate the internet so that sites which provide information to terrorists could be eliminated.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Julius Caesar once said, "Men are not disturbed by things but the view that they take of things." The September 11th attack proved to the world that even great nations are not invincible. The lesson that we should learn from such cataclysmic events is that we should not be bridled by nugatory facts, but rather we should task ourselves with concocting a solution that can tackle the issue at the grass root level. Hence, while monitoring the internet for identifying suspected terrorist activities might prove beneficial occasionally, establishing an international body to regulate and control the internet is equivalent to placing curbs on freedom of expression and is only a trivial and partial solution to the conundrum of terrorism.

In an age when the issue of internet freedom is passionately debated, any move to curb and check the activity of internet users over all the websites is an encroachment into the user's privacy. In the digital age, people are more and more worried about their privacy. For example, most of the financial transactions are online- be it banking transactions, purchasing movie tickets, booking flights and hotel and so on. By having an all-powerful international body that is allowed to regulate the internet, such a move is in effect letting the body play the role of a big brother. It will compromise the privacy and trust that people place on different websites. Further, there are several people who use the same password for multiple websites. By having an international body that can potentially access these passwords, the entire validity of private transactions come into doubt. The cases of Government spying on the citizens in countries like China comes to the mind. The citizens of such countries are never at ease while using the internet, resulting in the reduction of the overall happiness index. This situation is analogous to having a CCTV camera monitoring your move, each and every day.

However, while creating an all-powerful international body to regulate the internet is an over-the-top solution to one tackle one aspect of terrorism, it is also not advised that there be a complete lax of vigilance on internet activities. There are numerous examples of how government investigation agencies have cracked down cases of child abuse and forced prostitution by monitoring such websites those showed unusual or furtive web-activity. Thus, to an extent, a minimal check on the nature of each website must be established.

The help of expert programmers can be sought to detect unusual website traffic or internet activity. It won't be a Himalayan task to figure out if some unsuitable content is being asked of or being searched on the internet from a particular IP address. And once, such an activity is detected, that particular IP address should come under surveillance and be tracked.

In conclusion, though it is imperative that there must be no curbs on freedom of internet usage by the establishment of regulatory bodies, it is also a must that one must use the internet resources judiciously and responsibly, or risk being penalized by the laws of the land.