"Following the September 11th attack, where the Al-Queda acquired bombmaking and terrorist knowledge over the internet, many lawmakers have proposed that an international body regulate the internet so that sites which provide information to terrorists cou

While it is understandable the reason and intent behind the call for internet censorship to help the fight against terrorism, it is an opinion that I cannot fully agree with, owing to the difficulty in the execution of such a proposal.

In this modern age of internet, dissemination of information that could be a threat to national security is seen as a real concern and it is a fair opinion that there should be some sort of control imposed. A simple search on the internet yields countless results of terrorist materials such as contents with promises of an 'rewarding afterlife' if one commits themselves to some wretch terrorism cause under the guise of religion. These material could well radicalising people, especially innocent youths and it is a reason

However said, an international body regulating the internet should not be seen as a panacea to the ever growing problem with terrorism. It is difficult to differentiate and discern what constitutes terrorist information and materials. A website containing information and steps demonstrating how one can go about making explosives might seem like an obvious candidate for censorship, but it is not as clear cut as it seem. This information can serve a chemistry student interested in thermodynamics well just as much as how the same information falling into the hands of a terrorist group can be catastrophic.

How the international body go about censoring the content will have varying responses and might result in unwanted consequences. For example, if the international body decides that Youtube has videos that are deem to be a safety threat and should be removed, they might issue a notice warrant for the website owners to remove the contents. However, what is the appropriate step to take if Youtube refuses to remove the video, citing freedom of information on the internet? Should the organisation completely blocking the access to the entire website? This might not be the wisest of choice as it will effectively shut down access to other useful contents.

Furthermore, an international body regulating the internet might be subjected to pressures from many different countries, each having their own agenda and political purposes. It will be difficult to appease the wishes of each and every country. As an example, an Asian country might view contents disseminating information about Western values and religion as being terrorism in nature and an assault on the values of the country. Multiply this scenario many times over for each an every member country of the international regulatory body and it will result in an organisation will be too crippled to achieve any tangible targets.

As a conclusion, it can be reasoned that having a body regulating the internet is a good step towards the global effort of the war against terrorism. Yet, it is not as clear cut as demonstrated by the examples above. There are perhaps other better ways in helping address the issue of terrorism worldwide.