“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

Winston Churchill once made a famous remark that it is not always about the size of the dog in the fight, it is about the size of the fight in the dog. True to this statement, the world has come a long way as far as women's role in the society is concerned. Today, irrespective of gender, race or orientation, the world values the contribution that each individual makes for the betterment of mankind.

From an era when women were disenfranchised, today, we can see that some of the great political, social and technological leaders in the world are women, like an Aung Suu Kyu in Myanmar or an Angela Merkel in Germany. Even in the 17th or 18th century, it was patriarchy that hindered the empowerment of women as opposed to any sort of physical difference between men and women. Women were forced to be homemakers and educators and were forcibly kept away from such tasks which were tagged "masculine". Most of the time, it was purely pressuring from men that kept women out of power and positions of prestige and importance, as opposed to women's physical disposition.

But now, there is equal representation from both sexes in most, if not all areas. Women drive heavy motor vehicles, drive sports cars, serve in the army, are CEOs of technology companies and what not. A wave of feminist movement that started from the west and has gained momentum all over the world has engendered women empowerment. It is true that there are physical differences between the two sexes, however, this does not naturally imply that any sex is weaker than the other. There are famous women bodybuilders, boxing champions, and athletes. Women even make comebacks to competitive sports after their pregnancies. Some of the great astronauts in the world are also women, with Sunita Williams claiming the world record for spending the longest time in space. These achievements show that it is not about the task but the ability of the individual which is important.

Governments across the world are realizing the need and importance of women empowerment. They realize that, in a world, which is facing so many challenges, be it economic, social or environmental, they need the best brains to work on these issues to come up with lasting solutions. The world is recognizing and rewarding talent more and more. The disparity in recognizing and appreciating the contributions based on gender is becoming lesser.