“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

Men and women are are equal or not? This is the biggest debate in the 21st century. Since ancient times we have been hearing about the disparate roles and tasks being assigned to men and women. According to me other than certain biological functions all the tasks are suitable to both men and women. Earlier it was believed that women should stay at home and take care of the household chores and family and men had to be the bread earners. But we have gradually overcome this stigma. Today, men and women are work together inside and outside the household.

There have been ample discussions regarding women been physically and emotionally weaker than men. Women have time and again proved their mettle and shown that there is no way women are behind men. They are equally representing themselves in the fields of military, sports, farming, politics, medicine, engineering. In India, women are allowed in military and they stand with men at the border to protect the country from any threats. There is no sport in the world that is meant only for men or women, no cadre in politics which is meant only for men, no medicine course which is meant only for men, no form of feminism where only women take a stand. The whole debate about physical differences between the sexes is futile because it's all in our head. In 21st century we have come a long way where women and men equally partcipate in sorts of activities and the gender gap inside and outside home have narrowed. Inspite of all this, there are certain societies where women are opressed and not given equal opportunities because of the belief that they are lower or weaker to men. We have to overcome such beliefs and instill confidence in women to be able to do every possible task and rise to power.

However, it is also true that certain physical differences exist but I would rather call them as biological differences like a woman can give birth to a child while a man cannot but science has defied this law. Recently, we heard a news where a man gave birth to a child. Thus, inherent physical differences does not imply any distribution of work, it's just we as human beings have made these gender roles and use them as a tool to dominate people. It is important to understand that biological differences are not physical differences. And we should should promote an egalitarian society instead of talking about gender roles.