To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are several approaches to understanding a society. A society can be quite simple on the look of it and more complicated when one does a deep analysis. I believe the most important characteristics of a society is easily observed in its smaller cities rather than the big ones. Though both kind of cities play a significant role in building a society, the small cities have its own essence and are more aesthetic. Let me elucidate this by giving some examples.

Firstly, the society is more about people and their opinions and mentality rather than about its buildings and infrastructure. And I think people in small cities are more closely related and know each other well as compared to the ones living in big cities. For example in India, I have been born and brought up in small city called Meerut. The people there live simple lives, they live in closely knit families, and are good to their neighbors. Since we know India is a land of love and traditional culture, we all celebrate our achievements, festivals together and all this can be seen very much in our small cities. later I moved to a big city or metropolitan city per se called Bangalore for working and here in big cities I observed that people are mainly running behind money and have become too self-centered due to which lot of social evils like disowning old parents, the cases of organised crime are on the rise, alcoholism and what not.

Secondly, In a diverse country like India, where every community has it different languages, traditions it can only be seen in small cities because in the big cities the culture is more cosmopolitan and doesn't give a clear picture of a society (here India).

Still yet some opponents may contend that the big cities provide a better picture because they are contributing towards development of the society and helping people live better life. But a society is much more than that, its not about the national highways, and glass buildings and roads. How people live with each other in harmony, mutual trust, desire to help each other takes a precedence over other things. There can be some orthodox practices like un-touchability, racism, as well, that prevails in a society which is equally signifant role to give a better understanding of a society and since in big cities generally people are modern and forward in their thinking we may not come across such instances.

Hence, I strongly assert that the small cities provide more understanding of the characteristics of a society and these characteristics may not always be the positive ones, there can be negative aspects to them as well and that's how a society is formed.