Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The given arguement talks about the recent success of unmanned space flights and how they have contributed to information about space with mitigated risks. No doubt, unmanned space probes and satellites have demonstrated that they are significant to space research and is a great investment because it abates a lot of monetary cost as well as human risks associated with space missions.

According to the writer, sending humans on space mission for research leads to higher costs and risk to their lives Space accidents like the one in which Kalpana Chawla from India occured while returning on Earth and all the astronauts lost their lives is one such example. But there have been several successful missions where human beings have gone and have gathered a lot of information and provided a different perspective about the space and universe to humans beinsg on earth. The investment should not only be in unmanned space flights but in better education, skills, equipments and technology. The writer is not taking into consideration the information which astronauts have provided on several missions which probably a machine could not have. So, the investment should be done equally on both, the astronauts and manned flights as well as the unmanned flights. Because we cannot always rely on unmanned flights for all types of space research.

The author has also forgotten that a scientist will only be able to do research in his/her laboratory, for and astronaut space is a lab and a dream as well. So, it's equally important to invest in projects where men and women can go into space and get useful information which will probably not be possible by an unmanned spcace flight. There have been incidents where these unmanned satelites have lost contacts with the labs on earth and we have lost them, because there is no human intervention.