As people reply more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The famous baseball player Yogi Berra once said, "In theory, there is no difference between theory and practise. But in practise, there is." Thus, while the critics of technology try to paint a dubious picture of technological innovations by referring to it as almost insidious to human race, the reality is far from this. It ultimately comes down to the choices that we make and how each technology is put to use.

The first thing to do here is for one to accept that the growth of technology is unstoppable. From the discovery of elemental Silicon to the first transistor, to CD players and to the blue tooth player of recent times, technology has only accelerated. Once we have accepted to be a fact, then comes the question of how to put these technologies to the best practise.

The idea that human thinking will ONLY deteriorate with technology is a woefully flawed argument. Human mind is a complex device and it is known scientifically to adapt to its changing environment. Take the example of modelling a complex nuclear reactor. It is a highly complicated device with a number of input and output variables with intermediate variables and external factors that affects its working, making the modelling process a highly challenging one. A genius might be able to derive this model on a white board in a class room in about an hour. However, for the less erudite, this is surely arduous. It is the development of software that has simplified such complex processes beyond comparison.

Now-a-days, complex simulations are easily possible using mathematical tools and software like MATLAB and ORCAD and even, complicated electrical and magnetic circuits can be modelled using such software. Thus, rather than limiting the human mind, these technologies have widened the horizons to the possibilities making sky the limit. We are able to model something as vast as the space, as dangerous as the fire and as small as an atom using technology and use them to predict the unpredictable like the weather. These advancements makes humans think in a way that they never used to before.

Likewise, the solution to a 4 dimensional, quadratic, 6 variable equation was beyond solving when the technology available to us was painfully limited. But now, it takes less than a few seconds to get the correct answer. Eventually, the same human minds will work to make these few seconds to micro seconds, keeping it sharp and polished.

And, what of all the other areas? Entertainment field - where one can even change channels by thinking, in transportation - cars that can brake automatically in case of danger of collision - thanks to technology which is not prone to fatigue unlike humans and so on.

To conclude, it is safe to say that, in today's world, with so much going on in everyone's life, it is some times nice not to think so much. Consider an Alzheimer patient. His life will be so much more easier if he does not have to think - considering he cannot. A smart home with the right AI tools would make his life easier and peaceful.

The possibilities are endless. It is up to the us, to use our minds wisely to exploit these possibilities in the best possible way.