The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University."Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega profess

In this argument, the dean intends to secure better jobs for the students by eliminating its traditional practice of grading professors from students. To support this recommendation, the dean states the fact that students are getting higher grades after launching grading practice and students in Omega university do not perform as successful as Alpha university. Nevertheless, it seems that such a conclusion comes without enough concrete evidence. Here are some of the aspects that need to be further justified.

To begin with, this argument fails to establish connection between being successful at getting jobs and terminating grading evaluation. The author assumes that it is students getting inflated grades, that causes the low performance at job market. However, it is not convincing to claim so without providing the relations between the two incidents. To make us believe the conclusion, we need to know what is preventing students from being successful at getting jobs. On the contrary, a high grade would actually help a student to get a good job instead of resulting problems in getting jobs. Obviously, this argument fails to provide the root cause and relationship. Thus, it cannot be judged whether this recommendation is an effective one.

To continue with, the dean mentions that students are not as successful at job market as student from Alpha University. The definition of “success” is unclear. Does it mean the percentage of recruitment or the first year salary, or the reputation of recruiting company? We cannot find any evidence or comparation in this memo. Chances are overall students from Omega are reaching a higher recruiting percentage, while only falling short in the first year salary. Therefore, without clarifying what stands for success at getting jobs, we cannot simply make a conclusion so rashly.

Moreover, this argument is based on the practice implemented 15 years ago, which cannot reflect the current situation in the university. The author assumes that the grading practice and the high scores students are getting remain the same as today. Chances are the professor gives a fair score to each students regardless of how much grades of evaluation he gets from the students. Then the scores are actually reflecting the real performance of the students, which rebukes the claim that the grades are inflated.

In summary, this argument fails to give a clear introduction of the current evaluating system in the university, and how this practice will influence the grades of students. More importantly, how the score of the students will have an impact on getting good jobs. Until these questions are answered, we cannot justify that eliminating student evaluation of professors will contribute to getting better jobs.