Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The Passage introduces two researches conducted on whether children are more influenced by their parents or by the rest of the community.It is assumed that the result of the first research may be wrong and the result of the second one is correct,thus concluding that the method used in the second research should be implemented in the future studies as well .However, there are some major fallacies in his demonstration since there are not sufficient evidence in the research to lead us to such a conclusion.

To begin with ,the observation-method is used in the first research by Dr Field.His research reveals that children are more influenced by an entire village. The passage does not mention what exactly did he observed in this research and how many children did he observed to lead to his conclusion.So we are unable to evaluate whether observation method is not reliable. More details of the observation process should be provided to prove that his observation method is too narrow, so that we can believe observation method is not considered a good method.

Moreover, the interview-focused method doesn’t seem to be any better than the first method. Dr Karp interviewed with children from several islands and claims their behaviors are more reared by their parents. Without further indicating how many children from each island did he interviewed with , the age period of the candidates he interviewed, as well as the family background of the children in the survey, we cannot hastily conclude that Dr Karp’s result is more accurate .There are possibilities that he interviewed only 1 child from each island, and most children tend to spend more time with their parents, probably due to their restricted family culture.And the majority on the island enjoys a well-collaborated educational background,thus the children would on the contrary be more influenced by their community.So the accuracy of Dr. Karp’s research remains a doubt as well.

Finally, even if we assume Dr. Karp’s method is more likely to lead us to a more accurate conclusion, there is no enough support to say interview-centred method could assure information accuracy in future studies .Except for interview and observation method, there exist many other method for study,why future research could not adopt a third method rather than interview and observation remains to be answered .

In summary,the passage intends to prove that interview-centered method is prior to observation method ,so that future study can rely on it to provide us more accurate data. Whereas the author fails to substantiate why we can obtain more accurate information through interview,and there is no other better practice to gain correct data,thus we cannot roughly draw such a conclusion that future research should utilize interview-centered method.