The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you t

Van Gogh, one of the most extraordinary painter in the world didn’t receive a well-matched reputation until his works are recognized by people who live after him many years later. People cannot help wondering whether ii is true that the excellence of an individual can only be evaluated by the next or future generation. As far as I am concerned, this point may not hold true, since any great piece of work would attract certain group of people regardless of whether he is from a simultaneous era or the following period.

To start with, we do have a lot of cases of artists who lived a miserable life throughout their life-long perseverance of aesthetics. Their value of their creations was underwritten by their contemporaries. However, the history didn’t tell us if there use to be an admirer of their masterpiece, who would appreciate their sense of aesthetics. While there is high possibility that the history only records the major view of the contemporaries, leaving behind certain trivial one. Thus, we cannot claim that people living in their same period were not capable of appreciating their greatness.

Moreover, the reason some particular individuals could not receive appropriate recognition is that they were being scandalized and reprimanded due to jealousy of their competing rivals. Those competitors would try every method depreciating their peers in order to obtain popularities from their audiences. Major media inflamed the spread of detrimental comments on these extraordinary artists, which would influence a wider range of people in their period. However, the one who initiated the scandals already realized the attractiveness of their work and would probably create danger to their own popularity. From this point, we cannot deny that people who are able to recognize the beauty of contemporary individuals do exist.

In addition, we are now living in the world enriching in the freedom of conversation. People are relatively more inclined to tolerate any piece of work, since we are now more adept in appreciating objects in multiple angles and aspects. We never lose the chance of criticizing and censuring, meanwhile we could also seek for the value deep down inside its appearance. More rational and objective views are granted by people in modern society, that it allows us the chance to appreciate and consider the excellence of people in current era.

In conclusion, people nowadays would generally divide things into two halves, giving a comment in a more well-rounded and objective manner. It is common that we give appreciation and reward to real masterpieces in our current society. Hence, by saying the value of an individual can only be discovered by people after him is not cogent.