"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most impo

This prompt introduced a survey conducted to examine consumers’ preferences about video-games and gives a conclusion that the sales of whirlwind company will go up again. The result of the survey shows that players prefer games with lifelike graphics. And the author believes that if Whirlwind company introduces such games and do a big advertising campaign, it is likely to turn their sales up again. This conclusion, however seems groundless due to several aspects.

To start with, the author of the article provides a fact that the sales of a video game company is going down in past 2 years. The problem is that he also assumes that it is because this company didn’t introduce video games with life-like graphics, which is testified to receive most popularity among consumers that has led to the sales decline. In fact, we cannot find any demonstration or evidences about the root cause of their sales decline in past two years. There may be many other reasons that causes such decline, for example the population fluctuation and overall economy situation. Until the author rules out all other possibilities leading to sales decline, we cannot rashly conclude that Whirlwind will gain its sale if it adopt such a campaign.

In addition, it is assumed that Whirlwind company will also upgrade its PC in order to better implement new video-games with lifelike graphics. On the contrary, the author fails to mention such a fact. According to the survey, those games that attract most players required the most up-to-grade computers. If Whirlwind company introduces such games without upgrading their computers, it will greatly affect consumers’ playing experience. And it will ultimately affect the sales of their video-games. To ensure the success of their business plan, the author must also provide fact that Whirlwind company upgrade their computers.

Lastly, the author assumes that by catering consumer’s preferences about video games will naturally bring an increase to the sales. This conclusion lacks enough support as well. Since people don’t buy anything they like. Some other factors are impacting on their decision making like product prices, product quality etc. Even if the products satisfy consumers’ preferences, they might still choose not to buy it simply because its high price. The author should also prove in this argument that there are no other factors that prevents consumers from purchasing.

Finally, this argument doesn’t provide enough evidence to support the conclusion of sales increase in several areas. To strengthen the conclusion, the author must elaborate points mentioned above and consider in a well-rounded manner. Only when the author rules out other possibilities that might hinder the sales, will this argument become convincible.