Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

It is indisputable that wild areas are indispensable part of our environment, especially in terms of the diversity of biology. Meanwhile the profound natural resources located in wild areas has drawn attention of vast industrial companies to turn resources into energy and serve for more population. Thus a growing debate of whether a country should step into setting up laws of protecting wilderness areas has become more and more crucial. As far as I am concerned, with a nation’s interfere in preventing improper activities in wild areas could guarantee its wild environment to become over-derived at least possible speed. I hold this opinion due to several considerations below.

To start with, by establishing particular laws to protect wild life and environment would set up boundaries for the behaviors of industrial enterprises. They will then watch out what is something allowed, and what is something that is improper and harmful to the environment. Those companies, which mainly focus on gaining economical profit, usually neglect the impact ecologically. Thus the laws could impose a compulsory force or responsibility for them to follow. Without standardizing the rules for developing the wild areas, the environment there could only get worsened, since there is no limit on deriving the resources out of this area. Enterprises would never put a rest on taking their opportunities to gain benefit, eventually the resource in this area will become scarce and the balance of animals and plants will be disrupted.

Furthermore, to pass laws to protect wild lives is not necessarily contradictory to developing economy. The purpose is to prevent the environment from over-developed, while leaving space for proper activities. If the environment is damaged, the impact might be irreversible. No matter how much endeavor is made, probably the country is never going to recover its original look. And by that time, the energy source of the country’s economy is then drained empty. Hence, passing laws to preserve the wilderness could actually remain certain space for the economy growth in the long run.

Last but not the least, passing laws to limit human being’s activities in wilderness does put constraint on our development. On the other hand, it stimulates economy growth in areas like tourism. Take Amazon rainforest for example, the environment there were terrible decades ago, because government and industrial companies aimed at getting more wealth from this abundant source. Trees were cut down, river was seriously polluted, animals were threatened… After putting up laws to limit the endless deriving, the environment started to recover and more tourists were attracted here. The laws in some aspects live in harmony with the economy growth and contributes to it as well.

To conclude, putting up laws to protect wilderness will not only limit the economy development, but serves as a beneficial role to advocate the future development of a nation. That is why I do recommend government to make appropriate rules to standardize people’s activities.