The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce."Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The

In this argument, the author recommends city of Schenectady to install high intensity lighting to reach its goal of reducing vandalism and revitalize the decreasing neighborhood. To substantiate this point, he mentions the vandalism in city of Belleville has declined due to the installation of high intensity lighting, whereas the level of vandalism remains same even implemented police patrol. Even so, his argument is weak in supporting the why his recommendation is an effective one.

Firstly, there is no clear indication in his argument to claim intensity lighting is beneficial to control vandalism. Merely by mentioning Belleville city has installed this lighting system, cannot lead to the result that the vandalism will decline. Since there might be other reasons that caused the decline. The author doesn’t explain why this practice would reduce or stop vandalism. Hence, we cannot assume that lighting is the cause of vandalism decline. Same way in demonstrating that vandalism remains same level in Schenectady, the argument doesn’t mention why vandalism remains constant. Probably sending some police forces to patrol in the street do make certain contribution, while there are other reasons that induce people continue to make vandalism. This will make vandalism remains at same level as before. Without ruling out such possibility, we cannot say police patrolling is not making an effect.

To continue examining the argument, the conclusion of “most effective way” is not cogent and credible. To determine the best out of all, we need at least make some comparation between several objects or practices. However, there is no such comparation between installing the light and police patrolling. Besides these two methods, we cannot neglect other potential ways to help mitigate vandalism. The author should introduce more effective ways that might contribute to the target to establish a concrete conclusion. Only by including as many methods as possible into comparation, and pointing out the advantage of installing lighting over other methods, can we conclude that this is the most effective way.

Additionally, the author claims that by installing intensity lighting, the neighborhood in Belleville could also be revitalized. This totally sound groundless to us, since there is no evidence in previous content related to the neighborhood. We cannot find information about the declining neighborhood, neither the reason that caused the declining. To elaborate on this point, the author need to provide more fact about how vandalism caused the shrinking of the neighborhood and installing intensity light is the root cause to turn around this decline.

In summary, the conclusion of installing intensity on stands of some fallacious assumptions that might not firmly support the point. We might consider this as an good option, only until the author provides more evidences to make up for the holes and rule out other possibilities above.