Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leader must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

In order to reach political goals, some people believe that it is essential for political leaders to take public opinion and sometimes make changes to their decisions; while other people think that as long as the principles and objectives of the leadership remain the same, he could be a very effective leader. As far as I’m concerned, it is totally acceptable that leaders choose to make particular compromises in order to control and administrate the whole situation. More importantly, political leaders should stick to their ultimate objective. The reason why I strengthen the importance of remaining political objective constant is as follows:

To start with, a nation needs a clear strategy for all functions to operate, in other words a country’s economy, agriculture, industry, medical care, education etc. should be inducing to a same target, so that the leaders can reach their political goals in all areas effectively. If a political leader announces to protect the environment, whereas his policies in economy conspicuously violate this claim in order to gain particular benefit. Then his policies are not effective to reach his political goals and hard to convince his people.

Furthermore, being consistently committed to political principles doesn’t mean a leader has to remain the same policies under any conditions or ignore the voice of his people. It is deniable that observing the changes in current society and making adjustment in a nation’s rules and policies are crucial to meet his people’s requirement for a better life. The objective of improving a better environment for his people, should be identical from the beginning to the end, no matter what policies are implemented. China has put up a policy of “one child per family” to control the population 20 years ago. By that time, China was facing huge resource deficiency and poverty caused by large population. 20 years later, China broke up this policy by allowing a second child in a family, to solve the population aging problem and reduce the pressure of middle-age generation. The change of population policy reflects Chinese leader’s focus on improving living environment for all generations holistically.

Finally, an effective leader should always stands on his initial promise to his nation. It is way too common there are opposing voice everywhere, but an excellent leader should not bend to his opponents and make compromises. This will only leave opponents opportunities to create more trouble for this country. However, his is not alone. By keeping the integrity and devotion to his target, he is winning the heart of the major population of the nation. It is true that no policy is available to satisfy all parties, and sometimes violates the benefits of certain rage of people. If the leader chooses to stop or change his way, then probably there is never a chance for him to reach his objective.

In summary, I do support a leader to keep up on his commitment whenever and whatever, however his practices and policies can be flexible during different periods. Only by showing strong determination to make a revolution, can him be an effective and successful political leader.