The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Greatness is neither a measure nor a quantity that can be measured. Greatness of a individual lies in achievements and struggle for achiving it.Greatness is some times said to be proportional to number of people benifitted or the fame achieved. But this contradicts the situation when a individual is great by his actions and does not get fame, then the individual is considered a common.It is not the people who decide greatness but the act of the individual who is comitted to to a great thing.

But to a contrast, if we want to know the greatness of the person only by people, excluding myriad of other factors then it may be the contemporaries who can atleast for some extent be knowledgeable about the effort behind the greatness.

Firstly, contemporaries may be erroneous about the view of the great man but they are the proofs of his action towards the achievement. Contemporaries have castigated galileo for his discoveries but they are also the proof of his suffering to make those discoveries. This day we are able to support galileo for his discovery because some one contemporary to him have written about his achievement and suffering he bared to stick to the truth. Whether the discoveries may be true or not the greatness lies in sticking to what he believed. So it is the contemporaries who should first notice the greatness, only then it will be passed to next generations.

Secondly, contemporaries are the people who live in the same situation are at least see the same development. So they can understand the situation accurately. Napoleon, for an instant, may not look much like a strategist, By seeing the wars he waged by marching the soldiers forward into the lines against cannons and enemy guns. But it was the same practiced all around the contemporary world of napoleon. So it is apt for the guns available, slow rate of fire of the weapon. So greatness of nepoleon this days can be seen as good stratagist with out supporting him to be a good battle field stratagist, He can only be praised completly for his achievements and hole heartedly either opposed or supported by his contemporaries.

Contemporaries can also be considered as person competing for the same position and same comodity. So if a person is praised by a contemporary then it would bea great achivement. As greatness does not lie in tales of glory but in the sacrifice.