32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the presented memo, the author concludes with abriged working time on purpose to sleep, based on the fact that more working time causes loss of vigor, so that eventually calls accident. Indeed, the argument might hold be true in some cases, however, a number of questions need to be answered in order to verify the assumption.

First of all, the author claims without firm evidence that Quiot Manufacturing and Panoly industires plant are in same working environment but only difference is working time. However, it is not clear in other factors differ from Quiot to Panoly, such as manufactoring product, education level of workers, quipment quality, and so on. Furthermore, the author fails to examine the type of industry, if, Quiot is heavy industry such as chemical, which makes factory with hazardous procedure, causes more quantitiy of accident, on the contrary, in the case of Panoly, simple food packing, causes less accident than Quiot’s. Therefore, further explanation is required in order to prove validity of author’s assertion.

Likewise, it is assuemed that the magnitude of working experience is totally same, concludes with propotional disaster to working span. Unfortunately, contrary to the author’s propose, it is possible that less working time causes fatigue, plus to sleep depriviation. In other words, stressful working experience can conclude with more tiredness with minor working hours, and sleep deprivation can be intense when industry operating time span is in night. In these cases, reducing working time may not be helpful to cultivate sleeping span of workers, ultimately lower accidenct rete. Accordingly, the author needs to verify if lesser working time assistes lesser accident throught investigating working environment of Quiot’s.

Even if allevaited working hours success to increase sleep hours of employers, it still needs to be asked whether productivity is increased to guarantee the author’s conclusion of exalting efficiency. Reducing working hours means lesser producting time, and if, accidents before act is not serious that critically strikes profit, finally shifting margin graph downside. Therefore, the author should consider the balanced profit between additional cost for securing time and profit achieved through alleviating accident rate to evaluate the claim.

In summary, numerous assumptions pertaining to the working environment, equal job working hours, and evaluating efficiency are need to be verified so as to assess the credibility of the prediction.