98. The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

In this article, the author reccomends that Monarch Book store should open its own café and take over the space allocated to children’s books for making profits and win the competition, based on the evidence of national sensus data, installing action, and profit. While the author’s argument might hold ture in certain cases, a careful analysis reveals that it lacks solid evidence and is based on incomplete assumptions making the claim unconvincing without further examination.

The author assumes that data from national sensus indicating decline of number of children foreshadow declinling children’s books sale, however, cannot be easily supposed without additional evidence. Nationwide average might not be applicable to the specific region of Collegeville. For instance, if Collegeville is recently formed town so its members have demographics which indicated population under ten is plentiful, the sales on children’s books would not be overlooked, thus author’s argue would be incomplte. Threfore, further causal evidence is required, such as sensus held in Collegeville to verify exact number of children that would significantly affect sales of specific genre of books.

Similarly, installing café to win competition, also needs further evidence to verify. Café might not be the only dominating factor for winning competition. There could be other contributing factors. From author’s argument, Monarch books has survived for 20 years. In case of aging, and it has not been changed antediluvian moods since its opening, in contrast, Book and bean has recently opened with trendy, fancy, neat interiors, with specific fit genre-based recommandtion system, can also be one reason for losing competition. Thus, the author has to verify customer percentage using café and satisfied with service, and consider that is decisive factor that people prefer other book store.

Even if sucessfully installing book café, cost of action is not considred without further evidence. As said before, 20 years of fixed interior and arrangement would be hold lots of costs for making change. installing café, also needs budget to hiring new employer for making coffee, managing store, cleaning, et cetra. Therefore, the author has to verify if profits superior to costs, with precise calculation.

In sum, the argument is not wel supported and based on incomplete assumptions. In order to bolster it, the author must provide further evidence such as children population living in the Collegeville, influence of café to bookstore, and figure of cost versus profit.