The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company."When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited

In this statement, the author tells us that due to the Delany Personnel Firm which offered the some of the laid-off employees from XYZ company, they got jobs faster than those did not receive the help of Delany from the XYZ company. However, it was proposed by the company that they would displace the cooperation with Delany, instead, they would turn to the Walsh, another pesonnel Firm. While the author casts doubts on this decision in that the Delany was better than Walsh in that only half of the laid-off employees found work eight years ago when the XYZ paid Walsh to offer assistence to their laid-off workers. Besides, the scale of the Delany is bigger than Walsh. But the evidence cited by the author are problematic, because there are some loopholes in it, we should evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the numbers of the laid-off employees who got work again were not accurate. Firstly, we do not know how many the wokers who lost their work eight years ago got trained by the Walsh, the percentage of these people was not metioned in the statement, thus the nubmber of these people got work after the training in the Walsh was unclear. Threre was a possiblity that all of the laid-off workers got jobs when they finish the training in the Walsh. Besides,they author does not mention wehter the XYZ company was in cooperation with Delany, too. The data from the Delany eight years ago was still not given.

In addition, eight years passed , the condtion of the Walsh comopany now was not given by the author. Thus the Walsh company could be a better choice for the XYZ in that during eight-year development, this company has a made great progress and it could train the laid-off workers better than Delany. So the present data is required before making decision.

Moreover, the conditon of the Delany at present is not convicing to be a better personnel firm. In that the bigger staff and more branch officies merely means that they got a bigger network it would not help XYZ company to solve the problems of their own. Maybe the Delany is better at training electricity workers while there are few new wokers needed in the place where the XYZ locates at.

In all, the evidence of the author are not compelling. To make the statement more covincing, there are additiional data required, including the condtion of the XYZ company as well as both of the conditions from the Walsh and Delany eight years ago and now.