The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of the sunny side towers apartment complex recommends that the shower heads of twelve buildings in sunnyside complex should be modified to decrease the water pay each month and thus increase the profits further. The owner recommends his opinion on the two assumptions. First, the shower heads of first three buildings of sunnyside towers complex were modified and the maximum water flow was restricted to one-third of what it used to be. Second, modifying the showerheads of remaining twelve buildings would decrease the water pay and increase the further profits. Although, the owner fails to justify his stands and therefore the recommendation falls short of relevant proofs.

Firstly, the owner states that the shower heads of first three buildings of sunnyside towers complex were modified to restrict the maximum water flow, but the owner fails to provide the appropriate evidence which would show the change in water usage before and after modifying showerheads. While there might be chances that the actual usage of the water is decreased by the people living in apartment and not by the modified showerheads. Even if we considered that the water usage is reduced by applying the modified showerheads there is no clear data about how much water usage is being reduced. Therefore, the owner must provide the clear evidence of water usage before and after modifying the showerheads and also provide the clear numerical or graphical representation of water usage of all three buildings and how much savings will be gained by the complex after applying this change.

Secondly, the owner states that there have been few complaints about the low water pressure. This clearly states that people of complex are not satisfied with this change. Even though the other people have not complained about it but there are chances that they also might be facing with same problem or they might face this problem in future. Therefore, the owner must make sure that the problem of low water pressure in first three buildings is resolved and also make sure that people living in the complex are satisfied with the changed showerheads.

Furthermore, the owner states that modifying the showerheads and restricting the water usage would lead to increase the profit of complex, but he fails to provide the proper evidence for this. Conversely, for modifying the showerheads of twelve buildings would cost a lot as compared to the first three buildings, and if people of remaining twelve buildings find it uncomfortable to this change than it might lead to loss instead of any profit. This change might be possible if the owners of remaining twelve buildings agrees to apply this modified showerheads and make sure that they would not have any inconsequences with this change.

Therefore, the owner of the sunnyside tower complex fails to convince in regard to his recommendation, and thus he should provide more and clear evidence and proofs to provide a good stand to his recommendation.