To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

The author states that there is a need of housing for the students of Buckingham College and the number of new dormitories should be build. Whereas, author didn’t claimed this with proper evidence, whether there is serious need of more dormitories or the current dormitories are being over flooded. The author even includes, due to growing enrollment of students the need for housing will be double over next 50 years. Here, author fails to mention some evidence on basis of which it would be evaluated that there will be guaranteed up growing enrollment of students every year, he should have stated this by using pie chart or the bar graph of the enrollment of students every year. In the conclusion author states that by building new attractive dormitories would make the prospective students more likely to enroll at the Buckingham college. This recommendation can considered as incomplete as no evidence states that the attractive dormitories would attract more students. Therefore, this argument can be considered unsubstantiated due the lack of evidence for the various claims by the author.

First of all the argument readily assumes that there is lack of dormitories for the students of the college, here author fails to provide the valid documentation that students are really in need of the housing or if students are complaining about the lack of accommodation provided by the Buckingham college. It is clear assumption by the author that the increase in enrollment of more students would least serve the housing needs. Whereas, in contradiction it can’t be true, as more number of students enroll there are also students who drop out from the college and thus leaving the dormitories vacant for the new enrolling students every year.

The author even claims that the Buckingham enrollment is growing and in coming 50 years enrollment would be double, whereas this claim holds no ground as no evidence is presented by the author which states that there will be sure double growth of enrollment in coming 50 years. Even, if the current enrollment number of students is high nothing can predict that there will be double number of enrollment in next 50 years. Whereas, in a decade it is possible that there would be the down trend of new enrollment as due to the fluctuating technology trends and the government. Thus again this is a weak and unsupported claim by the author as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the doubling of enrollment in next 50 years and the lack of requirement of dormitories. If author would have provided any evidence like the growing enrollment graph from the past few decades or any other documentation, then it would have been lot more convincing to the readers.

Moreover, author argues that student would find it difficult to afford the apartment in the town due to increase in the average rent, although in support of this claim he fails to provide the suitable evidence that all of the nearby apartments have increased the rents. It can be possible that there is increase in rent for the large level apartments as due to their high demands, but surely the small and medium level apartments would have not increased the rents to higher as if doing so they would face the long vacant time for their apartments to be rented due to high cost and low space. Thus this claim too does not hold and stiff ground and lacks the evidence.

Finally, author states that attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham College. This claim is just a assumption by the author and consists no serious statement as it provides no clear proof that the attractive new dormitories will attract the new students to enroll in the Buckingham college. The increase of the enrollment can be largely dependent on the reputation and the research carried out by the college itself and not according to the housing provided by the college. Thus this claim is purely a assumption and not the serious statement.

In conclusion, author argument is not persuasive and it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear evidence, perhaps by a reliable survey and the analysis of the dormitories and there optimized need as optional to the building of new dormitories, which might not be effective without a clear analysis of the housing of college students.