"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Here the advisor is recommending for the investment in consolidated industries who’s major business operation is selling of home heating oil. The advisor support his recommendation by two assumptions. First, the advisor states that there might be increase in the demand for the heating oil, due to the below average temperature since last twenty days in northeastern, United States. Second, there is increase in many new homes built in the northeastern region and states that according to local forecasters there might be similar weather for several few more years. Thus this assumptions made by the advisor does not have clear evidence that would suggest for the investment in the consolidated industries.

Firstly, the advisor states that last year the temperature in northeastern, United States was below average, whereas the correct temperature cannot be predicted as due to highly changing climatic conditions and there might be possibility that this year and upcoming years the temperature would be in normal condition, and the use of heating oil would also be decreased accordingly. The advisor also states that the local forecasters predicted that the temperature in northeastern would continue to remain similar that of last year for several more years. In contradiction, the forecast might be proved wrong in upcoming years as there is fluctuating climatic change everyday and the forecast would also change accordingly. So keeping in view of forecasts it would not be right decision to invest in industries having major business operation of selling heating oil.

Although, the selling of heating oil would largely depend on the climatic conditions, and if the temperature would retain it fluctuation and get stable in day to day life then there would be loss in investment as the heating oil would’nt have more sells until the climate get colder. The recommendation by the advisor is rendered weak due to unavailability of proper evidences and information.

Secondly, the advisor states that there is increase in the new homes built in the northeastern side, whereas this makes no sense that this would increase the selling of heating oil. New homes built might considered with the latest heating technology which does not consist of heating oil and might have replaced with some better heating technology. Even if considered that there is no new technology built in new homes but there is not correct figure of new built homes, there might be only few new built homes which would not affect largely with the selling of heating oil. Thus the second assumption also holds no ground and lacks a lot of information which adviser should have added with proper numerical data or graphs.

The advisor fails to convince us in regard to his recommendation, as it lacks a lot of evidence and information which advisor need to add to convince the readers. Making investment in heating oil industries without such evidence and data might result in a big loss for the investment company. Therefore, the advisor needs to answer that whether the forecast predicted is viable? Does the forecast provides with any numerical data or graphical presentation of upcoming climatic change? Whether the new built homes consists of new heating technology system? What are the clear number of new built homes? Thus answering this questions would convince the recommendation stated by the advisor.