Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the field

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether university should require every student to study the variable courses out of the field or not during the academic period. Studying the different courses out of the field differs from student to student. Despite the fact, that student’s pursuing the courses out of the intended field have extra knowledge and different way of thinking irrespective of their initial course. But, requiring students to take the other courses in addition to their initial course can also result in lack of interest in their initial course. Specifically, those students who have straight targets toward their success may tend to take the initial courses too seriously, and thus by requiring them to take the other courses would consequently affect their initial courses too due to lack of focus. Therefore, Universities should not require every students to take a variety of courses instead universities should let the students to decide whether they would benefit from the other courses or not and take their decisions accordingly.

As a matter of fact, the purpose of taking the variety of courses can also benefit the student in their growing life as the extra knowledge they get can be implied in various other field. The way of thinking changes with the change in the field and also the subject. Student can benefit from this as their thinking skills develop and consequently there imagination power develops too. To clarify, lets consider the example, that a student taking a mechanical engineering courses, can choose some courses out of the field like the courses from electrical engineering or computer science, this would help the student to gain the extra knowledge and also the ability to utilize this extra knowledge in his initial field after passing out the college.

Whereas, in contradiction, if university made students to compulsory take the variety of courses in addition to their initial courses, may affect the particular student interested field performance. As will result due to his diversion of concentration from the main courses to other unintended course and the performance might not be as good as the student might actually give in his intended field courses.

In addition, failure in the other unintended field courses may discourage student and this would affect the interested field courses. This will obdurate his way toward the successfully completion of course and might lack his confidence. This would mislead the student in way towards the success. Whereas, consistent failure in course may cost student a lot, usually those who are dependent on someone else for their university fees.

In conclusion, universities should not require students to take the variety of courses outside their field as this would bring an obstacle to various students in completing their academics and would also lack the interest in completing academics.