"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguer recommends that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight rather then investing in manned space flight. According to the arguer doing so will reduce the cost and risk which is considered more in manned space flight and can also be usefult to gather the useful information. The arguer supports his recommendation by stating the recent success of series of unmanned space probes and satellies. The argument seems convincing when it is given cursory reading, but an in depth analysis reveals several logical fallacies that have rendered the argument indefensible.

The arguer states that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites is best way to gather the information without least cost and risk, but here the arguer fails to take into consideration the cost required for manufacturing of such probes which need to sustain the outer space atmosphere. There are chances that the designing and the material cost of such special probes can be a lot more than that of total cost invested for the manned space flights. Therefore, the arguer needs to present the valid data and the comparison of total cost required for launcing the manned space flight and the total cost for manufacturing the special probes.

Furthermore, beside probes, the arguer also states that the satellites are the best way to gather the useful information rather then sending the men or women into space, here the arguer seems, didnt notice that the satellites can only gather the images of specific targets and that too for small period, and not the physical information of the, lets say a neighbouring planet. Whereas, despite of having a risk for sending man or women into space it is possible that we can get the physical information of the other planets or their satellities which can be useful in the long run technology and can be proven for the evaluation in uncompleted theories. For example, the satellite revovling around the moon can also give the detailed pictures of the moon and its land but it cannot be define the actual state of land and its nature, whereas if the man is sent on the moon with proper planning and lots of rehearse then it is possible that we can get the physical samples of the land on the moon and that too with least risk involved. Therefore, the arguer needs to take into account the both advantages and disadvantages of both manned and unmanned vehicle and their performances in gathering the useful data as they differs with each other and have their own specific qualities, and need to present them in right manner in order to be convincing for the argument.

Additionally, investing in unmanned space flights can be a temporary solution as the unmanned vehicles can never return to the earth once they are launched and some day they would be the part of space debris, so their is no guarrente for how many days the probes or satellities can survive in space it is possbilet that they might survive for a year or months or may be for only couple of days. This can be more risky in investing on unmanned vehicles rather than on manned vehicles as the information gathered by man can be more lasting then that of satellites or probes.

Therefore, the arguer need to present the suitable numerical and graphical data of cost comparison and the applications and the advantages and disadvantages of both manned and unmanned vehicles, in order to convince the argument of investing only on unmanned space flights rather than manned space flights.