The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors of Monarch Books has recently proposed to build an in-store café in order to attract more customers and to better compete with Regal Books. In order to make space for it however, they have proposed to replace the children’s books section because the population of the population under age 10 will decrease. However, there are several questions that must be answered before a plan like this seems reasonable.

First of all, the board says without any support that since a wide variety of book subjects are sold means that a café will attract more customers. Based off of the recommendation from the board alone, it is unclear what the customers actually want that will make them want to shop at Monarch Books. What if they want a wider variety of subjects? What if they want lower prices? The recommendation’s lack of any evidence to back up this reasoning makes it a very questionable one.

Secondly, just because there is a decline in the population of aged 10 children, it does not mean that there will be more customers. Perhaps there is also a decline in the number of adults who do not wish to pay for coffee outside of their home. Also, there could be a decline in the number of adult coffee drinkers. There could also be some children that are over the age of ten that would like to read children’s books as well. If so, then the board’s prediction will be incorrect. If a café replaced the children’s section with any of these factors occuring, the cost of building it and maintaining it will surly cost more than just leaving books in one spot even if these books do not sell very well.

Lastly, the recommendation says that building a café will help Monarch Books better compete with Regal Books which may not be the case. The board’s recommendation assumes that since Monarch Book’s competitor opened its own café, then so should it. However, what if Regal Books outcompetes Monarch Book’s café anways? It would be useful to know what would be different about the two cafes that would make customers prefer Monarch Book’s café over Regal Book’s café, such as an excellent signature brew. If customers would rather go to the café of the competetor’s, it will backfire on Monarch’s Book’s and they will instead lose customers that they intended on gaining.

In conclusion, the recommendation put forth by the board is flawed and requires a lot more evidence to corroborate it before such an expensive and time consuming action were to be executed.