We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is so much to learn about that all of have yet to discover. Things ranging from acadmeics to everyday moral conundrums. There is also many different was in which we can learn new information. It has been said that we learn more from those who we share the same views with. I disagree with this position for two reasons and agree with it for one reason.

First, the world is a big place and since not one person know all of the facts that there are, people can learn much more from those who have different views. It is not reasonable for one clique to know everything. So, deffering to an outgroup will teach more than an ingroup that has thought all it could. To illustrate, an outgroup culture in China places a lot more emphasis on family and tradition versus an ingroup American culture which emphasizes individuality. Individuality was inculcated since a given American’s birth, so a fresh perspective in China which is not taught in America definitely teaches more unique information and is not as trite.

In addition, people can learn more from others disagreeing with their views because they can avoid conformation bias. Conformation bias is when evidence in favor of a point of view is esteemed while those that do not are disregarded. In fact, conformation bias is much more likely to occur when people only consider the views that they share with others. This means that people will loose the oppourtunity to learn new things since they are not giving themselves the chance to consider when their views do not hold as true. For example, take a small town that believes strongly in the second amendment right, and John is surrounded by guns and he and his friends shoot guns at a firing range every week. John is convinced that everyone should be allowed to own a gun and doesn’t consider how it could be dangerous because his friends prevent him from thinking so. A fresh perspective from an anti-gun activist could expand John’s knowledge by inculcating the dangers of firearms and then riding him of his conformation bias imposed by his friends. All in all, to rectify this bias, people must give themselves the opportunity to speak with those who disagree with them and thus learn from them.

On the other hand, people may learn more from others who have been in the same situation and share the same views. For example, two people agree that lying is morally wrong. However, one person has been betrayed by a former friend who was hiding money that he spent gambing and said that he was only spending long nights away from home with his sick mother who was not really sick anyways. With this anecdote, the other person would learn just how much lying is bad and how much of an impact it could have on the lives of others. Thus, associating people with similar views can help you learn by explanding current knowledge.

In conclusion, this is a complex issue in which no one extreme stance should be taken. There are good reasons for this prompt and good reasons against this prompt.