Laws should be flexible enough to enough to take into account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Many laws are rarely ever ridged for a long period of time. Others are ephemeral and last even months at a time. Though they should all try to maintain order in society. It has been said that laws need to be flexible to account for special circumstances, times, and different places. I mostly agree with this statement for two reasons and disagree with it with one statement.

First, when considering laws it is important to decide circumstance. Certain circumstances should determine whether or not a particular law should apply. For example, consider the famous Heinz Dilemma when a man whose wife is dying of cancer finds a chemist with a cure. The chemist charges ten times the cost of production and the man cannot afford to pay. So, the man breaks in the chemist’s lab and steals the drug. The man should not be charged with a crime because higher moral reasoning suggests that a better of man such as the chemist should not charge so much for a drug. Thus, certain circumstances such as poverty should allow laws to be flexible since not all people share the same social standings.

Furthermore, today’s pressing and compelling events show how laws should be flexible in certain times. Specifically, the opiod crisis in America. People are dying from overdoses of life-running drugs because there are few alternatives to pain management. However, promising alternatives such as medical cannabis may be able to help others with minimal side effects and almost comparable potency as the opiod drug class. Sadly enough, people are still dying and struggling with opioid use since it is too difficult for researchers to get their hands on this substance since it is illegal. Unless the laws give them some wiggle room, a life-saving alternative would be available to save lives numbering in the millions over several years. Therefore, if laws are more flexible during times of this kind of crisis, safer alternatives will help save lives in places all over the world.

On the other hand, sometimes it is best that laws stay unmaleable. For reasons to do with morality and public trust, presidents and other political leaders should never lie no matter how ugly the truth may seem. This is in line with Kantian ethics which says: “you shall never lie”. To illustrate, if the president tries to gain secret and slanderous information about his opponent when law enforcement says that he should tell the truth, he should go ahead and do so. Laws such as this should apply when he is on live TV with a quarter of the population watching or when he is in a sealed off interogation room with the FBI. If any political leader lies, public trust in the government goes down. Laws that maintain integrity are crucial and should always be followed.

In conclusion, laws are important for the well-being of all people, however there are numerous extrodinary circumstances, times, and places which they must allow exceptions in order for that said well-being to be maintained. However, there are also laws which must be set and never violated.