According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A report says that cheating among university students are on the rise. The author of this text mentions an exception to this general trend and notices what is different about this particular college called Groveton College. Specifically, it is the fact that this college has a student honor code against cheating. The author then goes on to say that this code has reduced the number of cheaters caught over the last 5 years and concludes that all colleges must have an honor code of their own to curb the number of cheaters in all colleges. However, there are several questions that must be answered first in order to see if this recommendation has merit.

To begin with, it is important to ask if Groveton College is like other colleges. If not, it may be true that an honor code will be ineffective in other places. To illustrate, since many universities contain a diverse student body, it is possible that different cultural values make many students less hesitant to violate rules and codes of honor. This is the case with many Western cultures that value individual achievement regarless of how it is obtained. This means that cheating among certain students will not be affected in places such as America and Europe. Thus, the author’s proposal cannot apply to all colleges and universities.

Additionally, the simple fact that teachers do not moniter students as closely as before is another problem with this proposal. The big question here is can students be trusted? Can students be placed in a testing room without a proctor preventing any cheating? Students simply may not be trustworthy. For example, students may just fawn upon teachers in order to prove that they are good pupils and would lie to say that honor codes would be a good replacement for teachers just so it could be easier for them to cheat. Furthermore, it could be the case that students are part of a cheating group that swears not to report others for cheating. This means that the cases of cheating go under reported by the combined effect of a lack of academic integrity on part of the students and a lack of monitering on the part of the teachers. In fact, it could be the case that this college has the highest number of actual cheating cases per unit time.

Lastly, those statistics presented are very vulnerable to a few questions. First, that they were collected over a period of 5 years. To illustrate, technology rapidly develops. Just in the last two years smartwatches and smartphones gave students new ways for them to cheat. It could be that the teachers are not looking in the right places when they are attempting to catch cheaters since they are not monitoring students as closely as before. As a consequence, the statistics showing the decrease in the cheating incedents used to back up the author’s recommendation makes it seem less likely to be a good one. Also, it is important to ask if the same several questions wrong and same questions right occur on several students’ exams. If this were true, the students should be suspected of cheating and the author’s plan of an honor code are very questionable since students at this college could have cheated.

All in all, these questions determine whether or not the author’s idea is a good one. Especially the questions about students’ trustworthiness and that he or she said that it would work in all universities. If it is not a good recommendation, there should be other propositions that should be evaluated.