Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Whatever group we may be a part of, wether it be part of a university, workplace and even as a citizen, there is always a leader who is looked up to for ideas and guidance. Some say that there should be a limit on the amount of time leaders in general should have providing that said guidance and ideas since it is the surest way to success. This is mostly true as no one extreme stance can be taken on this issue. There are two reasons for this claim and another important reason against this claim.

If leaders are not permitted to stay in power for more than five years, then it will be difficult for them to gain experience as a leader which could be required for success. For example, if an office manager is told to step down, then he may not be able to gain more experience as there is no guarantee that she/he will get that same position again. This could force that manager to find another job at say a fast food restaurant where many of the same principals learned from the office job do not apply at the resteraunt. Furthermore, since this manager did not gain much experience for fast food management, he/she will not be able to provide fresh ideas since five years could not be enough experience to be able to fully come up with the best ideas as a leader.

Lastly, if leaders are told to step down after five years the organization may loose an effective leader. For instance, if a school principal has managed to maintain good student morale, high standardized test scores, and great teachers for the past few years and was replaced by one who changed the curriculum and ended up undoing the success, it would have been in the school’s better interests to keep the original principal. Many times it is not that leader turnover will bring success, but it is that keeping those who get it right in the first place does.

In addition, the United States Congress could benefit from a term limit of five years as many regressive political ideas could be replaced by adding a leader with a fresh perspective. For example so many members of this congress vote on climate change bills that do not promote the use of greener energy. The use of nonrenewable resources is a very regressive idea that are held by those who have been essentially tenured with even tens of years of time in government. If newer candidates are to get elected, there is a higher chance that more progressive ideas will be introduced. If not, the next candidate may do so after their five year term is up. Five year term limits can bring more success to the country’s political ideologies.

In conclusion, there is no one extreme that can be taken to this issue since leaders can bring success in different ways with or without term limits.