The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Since the industrial revolution and the explosion in economic development, people now have more buying power than they ever had before. However, as the years pass, significant environmental problems have emerged and climate issues such as climate change and waste management have become a hot topic issue in cities and towns. The prompt says that in order to hasten the worsening of environmental problems, cities and towns should limit the amount of garbage that is collected from households. I mostly disagree with this proposition for two reasons and agree with it for one reason.

Firstly, if cities and towns limit the amount of garbage accepted it is probable that some homes will limit their waste. For example, people could limit their waste production to avoid excess garbage from piling up on their sidewalk. This would include change of habits such as reducing the amount of junk food consumed which require a lot of packaging, or holding on to old furniture for a longer period of time. Since people are limiting the amount that they buy and throw away, environmental problems would be lessened.

However, though many households would reduce the amount they consume and throw away, this proposal could backfire when a significant number of people in other cities and towns try to improperly dispose of garbage themselves. For instance, some households may drive out to quiet areas or rivers to dispose of their garbage there rather than giving it to their municipalities who are trained to handle garbage properly in recycling centers. Thus, environmental problems will only be exacterbated because it is not likely that rubbish in the river and in quiet areas will find their way to a recycling center where it is the most ecological place to throw away trash.

Finally, this plan would not be the best plan because household sizes are diverse and it is not fair to compare households with many members versus only one or two members. To illustrate, say the city here wants to take only three ten gallon bags of trash per household per week and there are several ten member households in one part of the city and several one member households in another. It is simply not fair to ten member households to have to limit their trash when they are being as ecological as they could with only two ten gallon bags per week over their limit when a single person living in a condo is very wasteful and throws away twenty ten gallon bags per week. If this proposal is modified in some way, such as an adjustment to household size, then it would be more fair to everyone.

In conclusion, this is a complex problem where no one extreme can be taken to approach this problem. Though a limit on the amount of rubbish collected from households is one solution to solving environmental problems, it is not the best solution and more solutions should be sought out for.