The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many societies which we think about today have some sort of overseeing authority overlooking it and making decisions that affect it for better or for worse. It has been said that society works best when people question its authority. I mostly agree with this statement for two reasons and disagree with it for another reason.

Firstly, if society members discuss issues with city council members in an open discussion, they can improve their well-being by influencing some of the decisions that the city could make. The city authority may not know what is best for their own members as they are caught up in the myriad of other duties they have. So, when a particular proposal is brought up such as using remaining funds to go to building a statue in a public park when it is not in the best interest the surrounding community, they can question this decision by revising the proposal to make the funds go to some other project that will better contribute to the well-being of society such as new schools. This means that questioning authority allows people to improve their well-being through questioning authority’s choices that have been made when it is not the absolute best for their society.

Additionally, democratic societies’ well-being is enhanced when people question authority though the voting process. If members were unable to question authority and then select their leaders, it is possible that their well-being could be threatened. For example, the American democratic system allows its citizens to choose their leaders in place of those who are deamed questionable. In dictatorships such as North Korea and Stalinist Russia, society’s well-being has been threatened for many years since the people of those countries live in constant fear of saying something that could have them arrested. Thus, the ability for citizens of a society to question authority, and choose their leader will enhance their well-being.

On the other hand, it is sometimes for the best that people do not question their authority. It might be the case that people are simply not well informed enough to question authority at all. To illustrate, take into consideration how news is delivered nowadays. So many people get personalized newsfeeds off of their computers and smartphone which has a lot of potential for bias. It is also possible for people to “like” or “dislike” a particular story which will tell the AI that the reader does not like a particular story and will change the kinds of stories which are delivered. Among those delivered, it will exclue the full picture of the issue and leave people too uninformed about what to think and how to judge authority since many news stories are relevant to authority. All in all, with today’s news stories treated more like entertainment, people may not be able to accurately judge how to properly evaluate authority and know what is best for their own well-being.

In conclusion, this is a complex issue where no one extreme may be taken. Although people questioning authority can lead to their betterment, it also may not be in their best interests since they may not be well informed about the issues at hand.