The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp interviewed children in the island of Tertia and concluded that based on his study that Dr. Field’s observations are not valid. Furthermore, Dr. Karp goes on to say that the methods of Dr. Field (observations) are an invalid means of anthropological study as well and that his interviews are a more superior method in terms of accuracy. However, Dr. Karp’s statements should not be taken as fact before more evidence is put forth to corroborate his claims.

Firstly, Dr. Karp’s interviews are questionable. It is important to know what questions were asked during the interview. The children may have been prompted to speak about their parents. Just because they spoke more about their parents, it does not discount the possible fact that Dr. Field was correct in saying that the villegers spend more time raising them. In addition, what if the children’s parents were absent for most of their lives? Also, it would be important to know exactly how many children were interviewed as a small sample size in any study could not be representative of the entire population as a whole. If Karp interviews only five children, it is not reasonable to say that Dr. Field’s study has no merit.

Additionally, it is quite improbable that one bad observational study makes this entire method of study invalid as well. Even if Dr. Field’s study is proven to have no merit, it does not mean that other observational studies such as those about now accepted psychological and sociological theories based on observational studies about, for example, universal emotion recognition across several different cultures are invalid as well. Dr. Karp must consider this possibility before making such an extreme assumption that can be disproved by even just one case of an effective observational study.

Lastly, Dr. Karp says that his interview method is more accurate than Dr. Field’s observational studies. In order to evaluate this statement, we first need to know what aspects about the observational studies are different than those interview methods and whether or not the observational studies can get all of the information gathered in the interview anyways. Also, there could be ethical considerations such as permission restrictions and other weaknesses that could affect accuracy such as bias from both the graduate students conducting the interviews and the responses received from the children. The graduate students could force responses from the children which could compromise accuracy since the responses are not genuine. In fact, could the children leave out critical information that can only be obtained in the observational studies? If so, the interview method would not be more accurate.

In conclusion, since little evidence is given and since little is known about both of the archeologists’ studies, Dr. Karp’s statements need a lot more evidence to accept his claims of a more accurate study and claim of a faulty study by Dr. Field.