TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers and friends are the most influential peoples in our life after our parents. A good teacher or friend can change our life I personally think friends are more influential than a teacher.

In our childhood, we came across friends before going to school. From the childhood to our old age, friends influence our life is undeniable and they influence us in different ways. First of all, we simply feel more attracted to our friends because we spent more time with our friends than with a teacher. A teacher can influence a student to better in an exam or how to be a good human being but friends influence us in all aspect of our live. From friends, we learn socializing, even in school friends guide us to better in a class or in exam. For example, a good student influence another student or some good students create an environment in class. In the other word, seeing them doing good other students also try to do better and that creates a competitive environment.

In the other hand, an ideal teacher teach a student for an ideal world by giving them a moral story or a pep talk. But our world is not ideal; we tackle different unfavorable condition in our life, which teachers do not teach in school. In our sullen days to exuberant moment friends are there to help. Another reason is we do not come across many good teachers who influence us than we came across good friends.

In my personal experience, from my school days friends are more influential than my teacher. In my school days to my researcher days, I only get a two-three influential teacher. In school days friends help me during my class and during group study. They also help me in my summer camping and in social activities. During my college years, while I was ill friends took care of me and help me with my study when I was recovering. From first bike ride to first car buy friends are there, and those experience in our ambivalent situation help me to tackle problems in life, and a pep talk from friend is much more effective than a teacher. While living in a college dormitory I learned and to adjust with others and how work as a team. Now those incidents help me in my job life. They always help to choose between right and wrong.

Some peoples can argue that teachers are more influential; because of a good teacher we fall in love with a subject and help to get better grades. There are example teachers like Derozio, who were friends like with his students, and some teachers teach without any fees. But, in my opinion those teachers are a handful and we have some good friends in our life and I believed that experiences like mine are also common in others life. Finally, the definition of a teacher bound into a particular traditional idea or name is unfair, because teachers could be anyone, even our friends. So, the role of a teacher and their influence is inevitable.