A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The crux of the argument was, since the seafood consumption in Bay City increased by 30 percent in the past five years, So, a new seafood restaurant would be profitable. As there is no seafood specialty restaurant in the area. The argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

The author concludes that the new seafood restaurant would be profitable based on a sales study, which told seafood consumption increased by 30 percent and the families in the Bay City have a stable income. But the author does not provide the actual number that how many denizens took part in that survey or how many people consume seafood on a regular basis. It might be possible that the actual number does not increase but the Bay City might be popular within the tourists and they would like to consume seafood. So, a conclusion based on the survey was unfeasible, because even tourists might attend the Bay City on a specific time of the year.

The author claimed that the families eat fewer home-cooked meals and they are health conscious. These are self-contradictory to each other. So, the legitimacy of the survey is in the question. It might be also possible that compared to five years ago the citizens are now more health conscious, that;'s why even though increased in seafood consumption there was no restaurant because they cook seafood meals at their homes. There is no practical data that bolster that the people's in the Bay City prefer eating outside.

The author claimed that restaurant meals are healthier than cooked meals and indirectly indicate that seafood is healthier than other foods. Does the author asked any dietitians or doctors, or does food officers gave them a certificate that their food will be healthier? The author draws a conclusion based on the facile survey.

The argument is based on unwarranted reasons and for the above following points, the argument is flawed. The argument also failed to provide any convincing data which proves that the survey was legit and the Captain Seafood restaurant will be profitable.