The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The topic was about recommending Appian Roadways to construct roads for new shopping malls because of their commitment to quality and the constructions are long-lasting, overall they hiring new quality control manager and purchased the new paving machine. The following argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and flawed for numerous reasons.

Primarily, the author argued that Route 40 roadway was long-lasting than Route 101 because Appine roadways construct it and also conclude that the Appine construction is better. The author assumed that the conditions were analogous in two parts, it might be possible that because of the environment and heavy vehicle load the Route 101 badly cracked. On the other hand, even though Route 40 was constructed 4 years ago, due to less vehicle load the road was still in good conditions.

The author claimed that Appine construction continuing commitment to quality and they purchased cutting edge machines. The author does not compare other construction companies with Appine and never demonstrated the other works rather than Route 40. It might be possible that there are many companies better than Appine construction and also have new technologies and better workers. It might be possible that because of using new technologies the cost of Appine construction also higher.

At last the author claimed that Appine access road does not need to be repaired for four years and also recommended on constructing new roads for shopping malls. The author made this assumption only on single work of Appine construction. The author also assumed those good roads also be a reason for the success of shopping malls. It might be possible that in spite of good roads the location of the shopping mall is in a remote place and since the other than Route 40, other works of Appine does not study they might fail to provide sufficient quality to the construction.

The end of the argument, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case which can prove that Appine construction is better than others and also made the authors' argument more sound.