The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The vice president of some company which builds shopping malls in various regions has suggested replacing the organization which constructs their access roads i.e. Good Intentions Roadways with Appian Roadways. He claims by looking at only a few factors and there might be some loopholes in his suggestion.

Firstly, the question which needs to address is the amount of traffic on both the routes he used for comparison. Route 101 must have very heavyweight traffic and that might be the reason for the ware out of the roads. On the other hand, it might be a case that Route 40 must be on the outskirts and the traffic in that region must be very light and hence the roads were in such a great state for four long years. By getting an answer to this question might help the company to evaluate the recommendation.

Secondly, the other contributing factor for degradation of the roads can be the weather conditions. This question should also be answered for making a good decision. The weather on Route 101 might be extream cold and the snowfall in this region must be very heavy causing the roads to damage. Whereas the weather on Route 40 must be fair and hence the roads remained undamaged for a long period compared to the ones on Route 101. This is also an important query which needs to be addressed before making any evaluation.

The third question which needs to be answered is the budget which was assigned to both the projects. As the cost can be a contributing factor for the quality of the roads. If the Route 40 was given a higher budget compared to Route 101 then the materials used must be different and hence the road must have stayed clean from damage.

Lastly, there is also one more issue which needs to be looked at. The new quality-control manager has been assigned and there is no extra information given about the experience and what his role might be. And the new state-of-the-art paving machinery purchased must also be evaluated and the reason for purchasing it and the performance of it should also be taken into account.

To sum up, the recommendation made by the vice president must be evaluated on the answers of various unspoken questions to come to a clear understanding and make a good decision.