Vandalism in Carlton County

The argument claims that the increase in the number of vandalism in Carlton County is because of the increased immigrants and if we reduce the number of out-of-state immigrants the vandalism will also decrease. Stated in this way the argument manipulates thoughts and coveys distorted view of the situation. It also fails to answer various questions which need to be answered for making a proper conclusion.

Firstly, the question which needs to be addressed is why is there an increase in vandalism? Is it because of some political issue like an increase in taxes, unemployment, etc.? If this is the case then the immigrants do not have a direct relation to the increase in vandalism.

The political status of the county must be checked and then the reason should be found out. Here the author just assumes that as the number of immigrants has increased then they are responsible for the vandalism. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the immigrants are causing chaos.

Secondly, the author states that vandalism has increased over the past two years and the number of immigrants has increased. Since the exact number of years are stated here, we cannot firmly accept this belief. If the increase is very little change like if it has increased by one percent then it makes no sense to blame the immigrants for vandalism.

Lastly, the author states that if we reduce the number of out-of-state immigrants then the vandalism will stop. What is the proof that this will happen? It might also be a case where the vandalism still increases. If the argument would have provided evidence that it will decrease the number of vandalism then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.