GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, far

The argument claims that the government must promote some engineered breed of millet to combat the deficiency of Vitamin A in the people of Tagus. Stated in this way the argument fails to answer a few questions which need to be answered for a better evaluation of the conclusion made. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the people of Tagus have only one staple food and that is millet. What if they have more than one staple foods. And when the price of millet goes high after cultivating this new breed then people would choose other staple food over millet and this will make the whole scheme fail. The argument must have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the only staple food in Tagus is millet.

Second, the question which needs to answered is the price of this millet after cultivation. There might be a case where the price must be way higher than that of the traditional millet owing to which people might not choose to buy the new millet. Even if subsidies are given to the farmers this does not mean that the price of the new millet will be cheap. If the price turns out to be high then people would not bother to purchase this new millet which in turn will fail the new scheme. If the argument had provided some information on the price then the argument would have been more convincing.

Finally, one more question which needs to be elaborated is, is this the only way to curb the deficiency of vitamin A. There might be some other cheaper ways to tackle this situation. There needs to a proper study done and then only we can say that this is the only way of solving this problem. By only promoting this product the deficiency will reduce is questionable. Another question is the taste of the millet; has it change of is it the same. If the taste is changed then people won't eat this new hybrid millet which in turn will weaken the conclusion.