A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

A crime is a crime. The line says it all. In dubitably, whether to seize the social rights of a person when he/she commits a crime knowingly is a debatable topic in modern times. I, on a personal level, think that the person must be punished and they should not be allowed to roam freely in society. These evil-minded people must be robbed of their civil rights.

Some people can go to any level to fulfill their selfish needs. These people are not suited to stay in society as they disturb other people and make a wrong impression on young minds. Hence, such wicked souls must be kept as away as possible. There people who are misanthropist; who hate people and perform very serious crimes. For example, a famous case in India, the Nirbhaya case. It was so brutal and unexpected that we question humanity here. The poor girl was raped over and over by three people and one of them was even a juvenile. How can people go to such extremes? Such people must be punished and never should be allowed to roam freely.

On second thought, there are also some crimes which occur because people have no other choice to make like for self-defense. To illustrate, consider that you are on gunpoint. What can you do? There is no choice and you will act reflexively and try to harm the person in front of you. This is an acceptable case and in this case, only the person must be given a clean sheet. As he was not acting violently on purpose. But, how many such types of cases are there? May be 1 in 1000 or less.

In India, the prisons allow prisoners to do some kind of work like making paper bags and stuff. Which in my opinion is not right. And such people must not be given a chance to earn money as they will not think they have done something wrong. And they will end up earning money and use it again once they leave the prison. Such money must be given to need which will help in both ways.

Hence, after a holistic analysis, it is evident that the people who are committing serious crimes must be punished and should be robbed fo their civil rights. This is only who justice will be served to ones who are poor prey of these absent-minded people.