"The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar."Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your

The author says that knowledge can be learned by challenging the existing norms or knowledge which according to me is true. If we need to learn something new then it has come from out of the box thinking. The statement can be bolstered by a few examples.

Firstly, consider a situation where children only accepted to know about the things in their textbooks. Which is good some basic knowledge is necessary. But if the learning only limited then the knowledge of the children will not grow. They must be given some brain games or puzzles to solve so that their power of reception and converting data to information grows and help their overall development.

Secondly, think what would have happened if the inventor of gravity, Sir Isaac Newton would have just considered the falling of the apple some natural law and would have not thought of it different then we would not have known gravity. So, the rejection of some predefined norms and theories is necessary to come up with some self-knowledge.

Lastly, think of a situation where I have to learn a new language. Then, I have to keep my mother tongue behind or I would forget it for some time to embrace the new language I am willing to learn. However, if I keep comparing the two languages then it would make me less receptive and making the process of learning much difficult. Hence, keeping your old thoughts and letting some know facts go will help you in taking that first step towards self-knowledge.

To sum up, I can say that old thoughts and findings are important and may be helpful. But, sometimes it is always better if you learn to get things go and unlearn some facts to look at the situation afresh. Which in turn will help in finding some new solutions to some unanswered questions.