"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

There is an ongoing debate about whether the corporations should take a voluntary part in giving a helping hand to the societies and environments in which they operate or should only focus on the economic growth of itself only. From my point of view, corporations should contribute to the well-being of the societies and environment surrounding it.

First of all, corporations do not work in isolation. They also require resources such as manpower, raw materials, etc. So, they have to work in harmony with the surrounding elements and do require their help for thriving. That is the reason why they should contribute and take an active part in the development of societies and environments. To illustrate, think of some food processing industry. It requires vegetables and the employes form the surrounding area for generating revenue. Hence, the organization should also help in keeping the environment and human life around it healthy which in turn will help them in their business.

However, the other school of thoughts considers that the corporations should solely concentrate on generating profit and making as much money as possible. According to law, the main purpose of such corporations is to help the economy of the country. They are not accepted to look into other matters like the development of society and conservation of the environment. And that is correct too, as there are various non-profit organizations and some government-funded NGO's which are specially appointed for the same purpose. Hence, corporations are not compelled to participate in the well-being of societies and environments.

I do admit, that legally the corporations are not obliged to take an active part in the development of their surroundings. But helping them will not only help society but also the corporation as it will be benifical for both the society and the corporation in the long run.