The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Self-knowledge is the wisdom that is attains not by books, or by education. It requires a much deeper introspection of oneself, the things and incidences that shaped us into the kind of product that we are, or the worldview that we holds. It is true, that, from the definition given of self-knowledge, one needs to analyze oneself, of his personality, of his unidentifyable habits that he has been unconciously practising for years, and more. The problem lies in this fact that when one lives life doing his society thrown responsibilities, one forgets the more important facts of his life. There are many things that we, humans, take for granted. We forget, in this world that promotes wealth, status, style, of the more important things that makes us a man. Hence, as the prompt puts forth, it is important that one rejects the familiar to acheive self-knowledge. I agree with the prompt completely, and would like to put forth two reasons as to explain this to state why this alone wouldn't help us to complete the job.

Priority level is the basis in which many humans classify their responsibilities into. Which one holds more priority? Getting marks, or understanding the the subject. Finishing the lab assignment by attaining correct results using the wrong method of experiment, or conducting the experiment as it is supposed to be conducted, inspite of the results. Change the priority, and the situation becomes completely different. What's wrong with humans attaining self-knowledge is that their priority list is wrong. For example, many wants to take care of their families, but the integrity of one takes the second priority. That is one of the reasons we see corruption around us. So, the question is, how do we set the priority correct? It requires that I, when analysing myself, start rejecting the things that I feel is normal. For me, what are the things that I do incorrect. There might be a lot. So to understand that somehing is incorrect, I should start looking into my life first. The problem of searching for answers from other places, is this that, for someone else, it was something else. For me, it need not be the same.

The second thing, that we have to realize about our life is the worldview that we hold. Of course, each one of us have a worldview. It's the lens through which one sees the world around him. The problem lies in this that we don't take the effort to define our worldview. Do we take effort to look back at our life to see how we responded to the different situations that life has thrown at us, thus helping us to formulate a tendative idea of how we should react to situations in the future? Do we take effort to look back at our life to see the ways we responded to different kinds of people, thus helping us to come to a conclusion that making close friends with people with these qualities might be most necessary and beneficial for us?

Of course, it is true that rejecting the familiar isn't enough to attain self-knowledge. But it is truly the first step that one has to take. Hence I agree with the prompt completely. Concluding, self-knowledge is the wisdom that can set our world free from many of the consequences that we see around us. It is important that we take effort to realize about ourself, define our worldview. And the first step is that of sel